Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

SIGs

WHI Scientific Interest Groups (SIGs)

Scientific Interest Groups represent the social networking within WHI designed to optimize WHI resources by: 

  • Stimulating scientific exchange
  • Encouraging productive collaboration within specific topic areas
  • Advancing science by developing innovative scientific papers and ancillary studies
  • Providing opportunities to engage current and new scientists to WHI
  • Coordinating acitivities in an area of mutual scientific interest. 
These groups meet regularly by conference call, to accomplish these objectives. Each SIG has its own Home page, Current Meeting page, Supporting Docs Library and Minutes Library on the WHI Sharepoint site and may use and modify it to best support the needs of the SIG. For efficiency, we would like to promote the following conventions:
  • Home page: provide conference call information and group membership,
  • Current Meeting page: agenda and links to any materials located in supporting docs.
  • Supporting Docs: library of reference materials for calls or general sharing.
  • All authorized users may upload materials for discussion on the call to the Supporting Docs Library. There are additional features that be set up on the site if there is demand (e.g., blogs, tables, or surveys).
  • Each SIG has an administrator who takes responsibility for the subsequent design and maintenance of the site. Interested researchers need not be a WHI Investigator to participate. Simply go to the page for the SIG group of interest, identify the SIG administrator and ask to be added to the group.

SIG Chairs

  
  
  
  
Aging: Cognition & Functional Status
  
Stevesrapp@wakehealth.edu
Atrial Fibrillation
  
Marcomvperez@stanford.edu
Bone/Fracture & Body Composition
  
Carolynccrandall@mednet.ucla.edu
Cancer
  
Michaelsimonm@karmanos.org
Cardiovascular Disease
  
Marciastefanick@stanford.edu
Genetics, Proteomics & Biomarkers
  
Themistocles (Tim)tassimes@stanford.edu
Genetics, Proteomics & Biomarkers
  
Caraccarty@whi.org
Heart Failure
  
LiviuLiviu.Klein@ucsf.edu
Minority and Health Disparities
  
Crystalcrystal_cene@med.unc.edu
Nutrition/Energy Balance
  
Yasminyasmin.mossavar-rahmani@einstein.yu.edu
Obesity & Diabetes
  
Lesleyltinker@whi.org
Physical & Built Environments
  
Ericeric_whitsel@unc.edu
Physical Activity/Body Composition
  
Michaelmlamonte@buffalo.edu
Psychosocial & Behavioral Health
  
Michellemichelle.naughton@osumc.edu